Weihnachten im Vatikan

Weihnachten im Vatikan feiern | Weihnachten 2022

Die Vatikanstadt ist nicht nur dafür bekannt, dass sie das kleinste Land der Welt ist, sondern auch für ihre Weihnachtsfeiern und festlichen Traditionen. Weihnachten im Vatikan heißt wunderschön erleuchtete Märkte, geschmückte Weihnachtsbäume, besinnliche Weihnachtslieder und lebhafte Messen – und das 21 Tage lang.  

Jedes Jahr gibt es eine neue Krippe, die von erfahrenen Künstlern zusammengestellt und in der Mitte des Petersplatzes ausgestellt wird. Die Krippe ist eine Ausstellung von Figuren und Modellen, die das Jesuskind, Maria, Josef, Tiere und Engel darstellen und die Geburt Jesu inszenieren.

Weihnachten im Vatikan

Die Vatikanischen Museen und die Sixtinische Kapelle sind am 25. und 26. Dezember geschlossen. Sie können jedoch den Petersdom und den Petersplatz besichtigen und sogar an der Weihnachtsmesse im Vatikan teilnehmen.

Weihnachtstraditionen im Vatikan

Weihnachten im Vatikan
  • Die Weihnachtszeit im Vatikan beginnt am 8. Dezember und endet am 6. Januar. Sie wird mit der Enthüllung des Weihnachtsbaums auf dem Petersplatz eingeläutet.
  • Jedes Jahr findet die Mitternachtsmesse im Petersdom statt.
  • Seit 1993 findet in der Vatikanstadt jedes Jahr ein Weihnachtskonzert statt. Die Veranstaltung, die hauptsächlich für wohltätige Zwecke organisiert wird, heißt Concerto di Natale und bringt international bekannte Musikkünstler zusammen. 
  • Genau wie der Weihnachtsmann hat auch die Vatikanstadt ihre eigene Figur, La Befana, eine alte Hexe, die auf ihrem Besen fliegt und Geschenke für die Kinder hinterlässt.

Der Weihnachtsgottesdienst im Vatikan

Die Weihnachtsmesse im Vatikan ist eine der meistgesehenen Weihnachtsmessen der Welt und ein einmaliges Erlebnis.

Vatikan Weihnachtsmesse: Besucherinfos
Vatikan Weihnachtsmesse: Tickets
Vatikan Weihnachtsmesse: Uhrzeit
Weihnachten im Vatikan

Die Heiligabendmesse wird traditionell im Petersdom gefeiert. Die meisten Messen des päpstlichen liturgischen Kalenders werden im Petersdom zelebriert, da dieser über eine große Kapazität verfügt.

Für die meisten Messen mit dem Papst benötigen Sie Eintrittstickets, die jedoch in der Regel kostenlos sind. Wenn Sie jedoch an der Mitternachtsmesse, oder Natale del Signore, an Heiligabend teilnehmen möchten, müssen Sie Tickets im Voraus reservieren.

Sie können die Messe aber auch bequem von zu Hause aus dank der jährlichen Übertragung aus dem Vatikan verfolgen. Natürlich können Sie die Messe auch live auf den großen Bildschirmen auf dem Petersplatz verfolgen.

Weihnachten im Vatikan
  • Um Tickets für die Papstaudienz zu reservieren, füllen Sie dieses Formular aus und faxen Sie es mindestens 2 Monate im Voraus an die Nummer +39 06 698 85863. 
  • Sie haben eine höhere Chance, Tickets zu bekommen, wenn Sie weniger als 6 Tickets benötigen. Wenn Sie mehr bestellen, schicken Sie am besten ein Schreiben Ihrer Gemeinde oder einer kirchlichen Behörde mit.
  • Sie erhalten einen Bestätigung, dass die Kirche Ihren Antrag erhalten hat. Es handelt sich dabei jedoch nicht um eine Ticketbestätigung.
  • Wenden Sie sich 4 bis 5 Tage vor der Messe zwischen 08:00 und 18:00 Uhr an das Preffetura-Büro, um den Status Ihrer Tickets zu erfahren. Dort erhalten Sie entweder die Tickets für die Papstaudienz oder einen Brief, in dem steht, dass keine Tickets mehr verfügbar sind.
Weihnachten im Vatikan

Auch wenn sie als Mitternachtsmesse bezeichnet wird, findet die Messe nicht um Mitternacht statt. Die Messe findet am 24. Dezember um 21:30 Uhr statt.

Weihnachten im Vatikan

Vatikan Weihnachtsbaum 2021
Vatikan Weihnachtskrippe 2021
Weihnachten im Vatikan, Urbi et Orbi

Die päpstliche Ansprache: Urbi et Orbi

Von der Benediktionsloggia aus, die auf den Petersplatz gerichtet ist, wendet sich der Papst am Weihnachtstag um die Mittagszeit an die Welt. Diese päpstliche Ansprache heißt Urbi et Orbi, was übersetzt „der Stadt (Rom) und dem Erdkreis“ bedeutet. Sie brauchen keine Tickets für den apostolischen Segen. Seit 1985 wurde der Zugang zu dieser päpstlichen Ansprache nicht nur auf die Menschen in der Vatikanstadt, sondern auf die ganze Welt ausgeweitet, und die Ansprache wird weltweit in mehreren Sprachen ausgestrahlt.

Weihnachten im Vatikan apostolischer Segen

Der Segen des Papstes

Der päpstliche Segen, auch Angelus genannt, wird in der Regel an einem Sonntag erteilt und umfasst eine kurze Ansprache und eine Reihe von Gebeten. Das Angelusgebet soll an das Wunder der Menschwerdung erinnern und die Rolle Marias in der Heilsgeschichte würdigen. Es wird in der Regel vom Läuten der Angelus-Glocke begleitet, die zum Gebet und zur Verbreitung von Wohlwollen gegenüber allen Menschen aufruft.

Besuchstipps

  • Nehmen Sie unbedingt ein Fernglas mit, um die Weihnachtsmesse und die Ansprache des Papstes zu verfolgen.
  • Die Vatikanstadt ist in der Weihnachtszeit touristisch am stärksten frequentiert, daher sollten Sie alles im Voraus planen, reservieren und buchen. 
  • Wenn Sie die Mitternachtsmesse besuchen möchten, sollten Sie die Tickets im Voraus reservieren (am besten im November). Die Tickets sind kostenlos, aber nicht einfach zu bekommen. 
  • Um tolle Fotos von der Mitternachtsmesse und der Kirche zu machen, empfiehlt sich eine professionelle Kamera mit einem klaren Zoomobjektiv. 
  • Die öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel sind an Heiligabend etwas unzuverlässig, sodass Sie vielleicht zu Fuß zu Ihrem Hotel gehen müssen. Buchen Sie am besten eine Unterkunft in der Nähe des Petersplatzes. 
  • Die berühmten Sehenswürdigkeiten wie die Vatikanischen Museen und die Sixtinische Kapelle bleiben am 25. und 26. Dezember geschlossen. Sie sollten diese vor den Feiertagen besuchen.
Vatikan-Tickets buchen

Bevorzugte Eintrittstickets mit begleitetem Einlass: Vatikanische Museen + Sixtinische Kapelle

Sofortbestätigung
Digitale Tickets
Flexible Dauer
Mehr anzeigen +

Geführte Tour (unter 22 Personen): Vatikanische Museen + Sixtinische Kapelle

Sofortbestätigung
Digitale Tickets
2 Std. 30 Min.
Geführte Tour
Mehr anzeigen +

Häufig gestellte Fragen: Weihnachten im Vatikan

Ist die Vatikanstadt zu Weihnachten geöffnet?

Die meisten Sehenswürdigkeiten, darunter die Vatikanischen Museen und die Sixtinische Kapelle, sind an den Weihnachtsfeiertagen (25. und 26. Dezember) geschlossen. Die Stadt ist jedoch für Besucher geöffnet, die den festlich geschmückten Vatikan besichtigen möchten. Sie können auch die Messe im Petersdom besuchen, wenn Sie Eintrittstickets dafür haben.

Was kann man an Weihnachten im Vatikan unternehmen?

Sie können die Umgebung, die malerischen Straßen, den prächtigen Weihnachtsbaum und die Weihnachtskrippe erkunden, festliche Märkte besuchen und natürlich die beliebte Weihnachtsmesse auf dem Petersplatz erleben.

Welche Sehenswürdigkeiten sind an Weihnachten im Vatikan geöffnet?

Während die meisten berühmten Sehenswürdigkeiten während der Weihnachtstage geschlossen bleiben, können Sie den Petersdom und den Petersplatz jederzeit erkunden.

Welche festlichen Traditionen gibt es zu Weihnachten im Vatikan?

Die Vatikanstadt verwandelt sich in der Weihnachtszeit in einen magischen Ort, in dem Traditionen wie die Weihnachtsmesse, das Weihnachtskonzert im Vatikan, das Verbrennen von Weihnachtsscheiten, der Weihnachtsbaum und Krippe, Urbi et Orbi am ersten Weihnachtstag und die Legende von La Befana gepflegt werden.

Wann findet der Weihnachtsgottesdienst im Vatikan statt?

Die Mitternachtsmesse an Heiligabend beginnt zwischen 21:00 und 21:30 Uhr. Der Einlass beginnt um 19:00 Uhr.

Ist der Weihnachtsgottesdienst im Vatikan für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich?

Ja, solange Sie Eintrittstickets haben, können Sie die Mitternachtsmesse im Petersdom im Vatikan besuchen.

Christmas at Vatican

Celebrating Christmas at Vatican | Christmas 2021

Apart from being known to be the world’s smallest country, the Vatican city largely grabs eyeballs for its Christmas celebration and festive rituals. Well-lit markets, decked up Christmas trees, soothing Christmas carols, lively masses, Christmas is a magical 21-day affair in the Vatican city.  

Every year, there’s a different Nativity scene curated by skilled artists and displayed at the center of Peter St. Peter’s Square. The nativity scene is a display of figurines and models that represent baby Jesus, Mary, Joseph, farm animals, angels, etc that stages the birth of Lord Jesus.

Is the Vatican Open during Christmas?

The Vatican museums and the Sistine Chapel are closed on the 25th and 26th of December. However, you can still explore the St. Peter's Basilica and the St. Peter's square and even attend the Christmas Mass at Vatican during this time.

Christmas Traditions at the Vatican

Christmas at Vatican
  • The Christmas season in the Vatican starts on December 8th (Immaculate conception) and ends on January 6th. 
  • The unveiling of the Christmas tree in St. Peter’s Square kicks off the festive season in the Vatican.
  • Every year the midnight mass takes place inside St. Peter’s Basilica.
  • The Vatican City has been hosting a Christmas Concert every year since 1993. Organized mainly for charitable purposes, the event is called Concerto di Natale and it brings together internationally renowned music artists. 
  • Just like Santa Clause, Vatican city has its own character, La Befana, an old witch who flies on her broom and leaves gifts for children. 

Christmas Mass at Vatican

One of the most-watched Christmas masses around the world, the Christmas mass at Vatican is a one-of-a-lifetime experience.

Christmas at Vatican

Where Is The Vatican Christmas Mass?

The Christmas Eve Mass has traditionally been celebrated in St.Peter's Basilica. Most of the masses from the Pontifical liturgical calendar are celebrated at St.Peter's Basilica. owing to its huge capacity.

While you need a ticket to attend most masses with the Pope, the tickets are always free of cost. However, if you are hoping to attend the Christmas Eve Mass, also known as Midnight Mass or Natale del Signore, which is a rather popular and exclusive event, you would need to reserve tickets in advance.

While it might not measure up to the real deal, you can also view the mass from the comfort of your own home with the annual broadcast from the Vatican. Or, of course, you can always watch the mass live from the big screens placed at St Peter’s Square. Arrive early to grab some good seats.

Christmas at Vatican, Christmas Mass

How To Get Vatican Christmas Mass Tickets?

  • To book the Papal Audience tickets, fill out the form and fax it to +39 06 698 85863 at least 2 months in advance. 
  • You have a higher chance of getting tickets if you only need less than 6 tickets. If you order more, it would be best that you send a letter from your parish or some authority of the church along with the request.
  • You’ll receive a letter that confirms that the church has received your request. However, this is not a ticket confirmation.
  • Head to the Preffetura Office 4-5 days before the mass, between 8 AM to 6 PM, to know the status of your ticket. Here, you will either be handed the Papal Audience tickets or a letter stating that there is no availability.
Vatican Chritsmas Mass Timings

Vatican Chritsmas Mass Timings

Even though it is called a Midnight Mass, the mass does not take place at midnight. The mass takes place on December 24, at 9.30 PM.

Christmas at Vatican

Christmas at Vatican, Christmas Tree

Christmas Tree In Front of St. Peter's Basilica

The festive season officially kickstarts with unveiling the Vatican Christmas Tree at St. Peter’s Square. Also called the Saint Peter’s Square Christmas Tree, this tree stands bright and lit in front of St. Peter’s Basilica. This tradition was started by the then Pope, John Paul II in 1982 as a symbolic sign that denotes ‘Christ is evergreen’.

Every year, Christmas Trees are donated from different EU countries including Italy, Belgium, Germany, Austria, Ukraine, and Poland. The height of these ranges from 25 to 30 meters. These are beautifully adorned with LED lights, ornaments, and other decoration items.      

Know More
Christmas at Vatican, Nativity 2021

Themes Nativity Scenes at St. Peter’s Square

Along with the Christmas Tree, there’s also a life-like nativity scene set up at St. Peter’s Square for the tourists to admire. The nativity is donated by different countries in Europe. Every year, there’s a new theme/design. 2021’s Vatican’s nativity scene that’s donated from Peru will include at least 30 figurines made from artists in the Andean region of Peru. These are made from materials like ceramics, maguey wood, and fiberglass. The nativity scene would show Jesus wrapped in “chumpi” or woven belts; the Three Wise Men will bring superfood like quinoa, kiwicha, cañihua, and potatoes; and feature local Peruvian animals such as llamas, alpacas, vicuñas, vizcachas, Andean flamingos, etc. 

Know More
Christmas at Vatican, Urbi et Orbi

The Papal Address: Urbi et Orbi

Standing at the balcony of St. Peter’s square, the Pope addresses the world on Christmas Day at midday. This papal address is called Urbi et Orbi, which translates as “to the city of Rome and to the world”. You don’t require any tickets; all you’ve got to do is be there at the square. Since 1985, the access to this Papal address was extended to not just people in the Vatican City but the entire world, with the address being broadcasted worldwide in multiple languages. 

Christmas at Vatican, Papal Blessings

Blessings of the Pope

Called Angelus, the papal blessing is usually delivered on a Sunday that includes a short speech and a series of prayers. The Angelus is designed to commemorate the mystery of the Incarnation and pay homage to Mary’s role in salvation history. It’s usually accompanied by the ringing of Angelus bell that serves as a call to prayer and to spread goodwill to everyone.

Visitor Tips

  • Make sure you carry binoculars to make the most of the Christmas mass and the Pope’s address from the balcony. 
  • The Vatican city is at its tourism peak during Christmas time, so make sure you’ve planned/reserved/booked everything in advance. 
  • If you plan on attending the iconic midnight mass, make sure you’ve booked the tickets in advance (preferably November). The tickets are free of cost, but getting your hands on them is kinda a task. 
  • To get great snaps of the Midnight mass and the church, it’s recommended to carry a professional camera with a clear zoom lens. 
  • Public transport is a little flaky during Christmas eve with a lack of taxis and buses, so you might end up walking to your hotel. So, to avoid this hassle, you can book a stay near the Square area.  
  • The iconic landmarks like the Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel remain closed during December 25 and 26th. So, make sure you tick these off your list prior to the festive season. 
Book Tickets To Vatican

Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel: Entrance Ticket

Instant Confirmation
Optional Audio Guide
Mobile Tickets
More Details +

Vatican Museum & Sistine Chapel Guided Tour with Priority Access

Skip The Line
Instant Confirmation
Guided Tour
Duration: 2.5 Hours
Mobile Tickets
More Details +

Combo (Save 7%): Colosseum and Vatican Skip the Line Tickets

Mobile Tickets
Instant Confirmation
More Details +
From €47€43.60
Save 7%

All Your Questions About Celebrating Christmas at Vatican Answered

Q. Is the Vatican City open during Christmas time?

A. Most landmarks, including the Vatican museum, Sistine chapel, St. Peter’s Basilica are closed during the Christmas time i.e. December 25-26th.

Q. What can I see at the Vatican during Christmas?

A. You can explore the beautiful country, its artsy streets, the picturesque Christmas tree and nativity scene, pretty markets and of course, experience the popular Christmas Mass from Peter's Square.

Q. What is open at the Vatican during Christmas?

A. While most iconic landmarks remain shut during the Christmas season, you can explore the St. Peter’s Basilica and the St. Peter's Square during the Christmas.

Q. What are some Christmas traditions at the Vatican?

A. The Vatican City turns into a magical paradise during the Christmas time and observes traditions like the Christmas mass, Vatican Christmas Concert, the burning of Yule Logs, Christmas Tree and Nativity scenes, Urbi et Orbi on Christmas Day, Legend Of La Befana etc.

Q. What are the timings of the Christmas Eve midnight mass at the Vatican?

A. The Christmas Eve midnight mass actually commences much before midnight and starts at around 9 to 9:30 PM. The entry starts at 7 PM.

Q. Can anyone attend the Christmas mass at the Vatican?

A. Yes, as long as you’ve got the tickets, you can attend the midnight mass at the St. Peter’s Basilica in Vatican.